Concrawood Golf Club | Golf Course Reviews | Ireland
Golf Course Reviews and Overview of Concra Wood Golf Club
Concra Wood Golf and Country Club is the latest stage in the evolution of Castleblayney Golf Club. Founded as a 9 hole course in 1905, opposite the entrance to Concra Wood, it closed in 1949. In 1985, it was reborn in the grounds of Hope Castle (visible across Lough Muckno), before moving to its current location in 2008, and expanding to 18 holes.
The idea for a new 18 hole course began in early 2000, thanks to the vision and planning of Castleblayney Golf Club. The golf club approached Coillte to buy 240 acres of dramatic, wooded landscape that tilts down into Lough Muckno. The views are spectacular, stretching across the Monaghan Drumlins to the Cooley and Mourne Mountains to the east, and the Slieve Gullion and Mullyash Mountains to the north. And all the while you are surrounded by the lake and its scattering of islands, including Black Island, Otter Island, Crane Island and White Island. It is a unique setting that golfers, fishermen and walkers will love.
The landscape holds a rich history. The ruins of an old folly Castle (known locally as McMahon’s Castle), built by Lord Blayney, lies beside the 8th tee box, while the Temple ruin is located between the 9th tee and 4th fairway. This was a picnic retreat for Lord Blayney. Elsewhere, the Belfast steps are inextricably linked with Castleblayney folklore and the fortunes and misfortunes of the Blayney family.
The shape and flow of the golf course are perfectly complemented by the drumlins that roll across the countryside. This easy rhythm adds to the beauty of the course and its challenges, and it will inspire every golfer who chooses to play here. Woods and trees stretch their way elegantly around the course and between holes to give Concra Wood a truly natural touch.